NYHER RFA – Addendum #3

Another update was posted today.

a) Here is the direct link to the updated RFA (warning – PDF) ..

b) Here are the addenda (#1,2,3) – just 4 pages – so you don’t have to download the whole RFA again.

Now let’s parse the recent changes:

Section II

The Applicant must be a 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(4) non-profit organization. The type of
501(c)(3) or 501(c)(4) non-profit must be one of the following entity types: Community-
Based organizations (CBO), Independent Practice Associations (IPAs), Health Homes,
Behavioral Health Collaboratives, Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs), or
former/current Delivery System Reform Incentive Payment (DSRIP) Performing
Provider Systems.

Section III

Ensure that the SCN follows the requirements for the governing bodies of 501(c)(3) or
501(c)(4) organizations (as appropriate or analogous);
Making it clear that both kinds of nonprofits can participate.  What’s the difference, you ask?  Here you go:

  • 501(c)(3) organizations are charitable, religious, educational, scientific, or literary entities. Donations to these organizations are tax-deductible for the donor. They cannot engage in political campaigns and can only do a limited amount of lobbying.

  • 501(c)(4) organizations are social welfare groups that can engage in more political activity and lobbying than 501(c)(3) entities. Donations to 501(c)(4) organizations are not tax-deductible for the donor.